

CITY COUNCIL SUPPLEMENTARY Council Chamber, Burnaby City Hall 4949 Canada Way, Burnaby, B. C.

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING AT 7:00 PM Monday, 2015 January 26

SUPPLEMENTARY AGENDA

5. <u>REPORTS</u>

- Bi) His Worship, Mayor Derek R. Corrigan Re: Citizen Appointments and Reappointments to Boards, Committees and Commissions of Council - 2015
- Bii) His Worship, Mayor Derek R. Corrigan Re: Appointment of Council Members to Various Boards, Committees and Commissions of Council - 2015

COUNCIL REPORT



TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS

DATE: 2015 January 26

FROM: MAYOR DEREK R. CORRIGAN

SUBJECT: CITIZEN APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS, COMMITTEES AND COMMISSIONS OF COUNCIL – 2015

PURPOSE: To appoint and reappoint citizen representatives to boards, committees and commissions of Council

RECOMMENDATION:

1. THAT Council appoint and reappoint representatives to various Boards, Commissions and Committees of Council, as set out in this report for the terms specified.

REPORT

In 2014 October, advertisements were placed in both the Burnaby Now and The NewsLeader seeking volunteers to serve on Boards, Committees and Commissions of Council and the Burnaby Public Library Board. A review of all applications received was undertaken and as a result of that process the following is submitted for Council's consideration.

Appointments and reappointments of Burnaby citizens to the various boards, committees and commissions are for terms of <u>three</u> years unless otherwise noted.

Advisory Planning Commission

Reappointments:

Harman Dhatt, Craig Henschel

Board of Variance

Appointment:

Guyle Clark

Reappointment:

Charlene Richter

Community Heritage Commission

Reappointments (2 year term):

Margaret Bell, Philip Finlayson

Environment Committee

Appointments:

Peter Cech, Peggy Hua, Bill Brassington Jr., Frank Zhao

Parks, Recreation and Culture Commission

Appointments:

Karen Alzner, James Jang

Reappointment:

Lee Loftus

Public Library Board

(Pursuant to the Library Act S.B.C. 1994 C. 31, Part 2, Section 6(3) reappointments are for a term of two years.)

Appointment:

Lorraine Shore

Reappointments (2 year term):

David Ali, Satnam Johal, Sheila Pierce, Katy Alkins-Jang

Public Safety Committee

Appointments:

Emma Lee, Emily Li

Social Planning Committee

Appointment:

Frank Huang

Reappointments:

Peggy Woodruff, Noreen Boudreau, Sonia Clair, Shiraz Nathwani

Traffic Safety Committee

Appointment:

Steve Baron

Reappointments:

Eric Laity, Nikita Vizniak

Transportation Committee

Reappointments:

Amber Keane, Maria Marano

Respectfully submitted,

Derek R. Corrigan M A Y O R

Copied to: City Manager Director Planning & Building Director Engineering Director Finance Director Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services City Clerk

COUNCIL REPORT



TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS

DATE: 2015 January 26

FROM: MAYOR DEREK R. CORRIGAN

SUBJECT: APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO VARIOUS BOARDS, COMMITTEES AND COMMISSIONS OF COUNCIL – 2015

PURPOSE: To appoint members of Council to various Boards, Committees and Commissions, regionally and locally.

RECOMMENDATION:

1. THAT Council approve appointments and reappointments to various Boards, Commissions and Committees of Council, regional organizations and liaisons to City departments as set out in this report for the terms specified.

REPORT

The following report outlines, for Council's consideration, appointments of Council members to the various Boards, Committees and Commissions, regional organizations and liaisons to City departments. All appointments of Council members are for a term of one year.

COUNCIL LIAISON

•	Corporate Services	Councillor James Wang
•	Corporate Labour Relations	Councillor Pietro Calendino
•	Engineering	Councillor Nick Volkow
•	Finance	Councillor Dan Johnston
•	Fire	Councillor Dan Johnston
•	Health Services	Councillor Paul McDonell
•	Planning & Building	Councillor Colleen Jordan
•	RCMP	Councillor Pietro Calendino
•	Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services	Councillor Nick Volkow
•	School Board	Councillor Pietro Calendino
•	Seniors	Councillor Paul McDonell
•	Youth	Councillor Anne Kang

REGIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

District Community School Advisory & Coordinating Committee

Representative Alternate

Councillor Pietro Calendino Councillor Paul McDonell

Greater Vancouver Transportation Authority Mayors' Council

Representative Alternate

Mayor Derek Corrigan Councillor Dan Johnston

Fraser Health / Municipal Advisory Council

Representative

Councillor Paul McDonell

BURNABY ORGANIZATIONS

Burnaby Board of Trade

Representative

Mayor Derek Corrigan

Tourism Burnaby

Representative

Councillor Paul McDonell

New Vista Society

Representative Alternate

Councillor Paul McDonell Councillor James Wang

Parcel Tax Roll Review Panel

Representatives

All members of City Council

COUNCIL COMMITTEES

Audit Committee

Chair Vice Chair Member Member Councillor Dan Johnston Councillor Colleen Jordan Councillor Paul McDonell Mayor Derek Corrigan

COUNCIL COMMITTEES (Continued)

Community Heritage Commission

Chair	Councillor Colleen Jordan
Vice Chair	Councillor Nick Volkow
Member	Councillor James Wang

Environment Committee

Chair Vice Chair Member Councillor Anne Kang Councillor Sav Dhaliwal Councillor Pietro Calendino

Executive Committee of Council

Chair Vice Chair Member Councillor Sav Dhaliwal Councillor Paul McDonell Councillor Dan Johnston

Financial Management Committee

Chair Vice Chair Member Councillor Dan Johnston Councillor Colleen Jordan Councillor Paul McDonell

International Relations & Friendship Cities Committee

Chair Vice Chair Member Councillor Paul McDonell Councillor James Wang Councillor Pietro Calendino

Parks, Recreation and Culture Commission

Chair Member Councillor Nick Volkow Councillor Anne Kang

Planning and Development Committee

Chair Vice Chair Member Councillor Colleen Jordan Councillor Dan Johnston Councillor Sav Dhaliwal

Public Library Board

Member

Councillor Pietro Calendino

COUNCIL COMMITTEES (Continued)

Public Safety Committee

Chair	Councillor Pietro Calendino
Vice Chair	Councillor Paul McDonell
Member	Councillor Anne Kang

Simon Fraser Liaison Committee

Representatives

All members of City Council

Social Planning Committee

Chair Vice Chair Member Councillor Nick Volkow Councillor Anne Kang Councillor James Wang

Traffic Safety Committee

Chair Vice Chair Member Councillor Paul McDonell Councillor Pietro Calendino Councillor James Wang

Transportation Committee

Chair Vice Chair Member Councillor Dan Johnston Councillor Sav Dhaliwal Councillor Colleen Jordan

(Note: The Mayor is an Ex-Officio member of all Committees for which he has not been specifically named.)

Respectfully submitted,

Derek R. Corrigan M A Y O R

Copy: City Manager Director Engineering Director Finance Director Planning and Building Director Parks, Recreation and Cultural Services Chief Librarian City Clerk