

### Your Voice. Your Home.

Meeting the Housing Needs of Burnaby Residents

### MAYOR'S TASK FORCE ON COMMUNITY HOUSING MEETING

#### **MINUTES**

An Open meeting of the Mayor's Task Force on Community Housing was held in Room 103, Shadbolt Centre for the Arts, 6450 Deer Lake Avenue, Burnaby, B.C. on **Wednesday, 2019 July 10** at 4:00 p.m. followed by a Closed meeting from which the public was excluded.

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

PRESENT: Councillor Pietro Calendino, Chair

His Worship, Mayor Mike Hurley, Vice Chair

Councillor Sav Dhaliwal, Member Councillor Joe Keithley, Member Mr. Thom Armstrong, Member Mr. Patrick Buchannon, Member

Ms. Lois Budd, Member Mr. Paul Holden, Member Mr. Brian McCauley, Member Mr. Murray Martin, Member Ms. Kari Michaels, Member Ms. Claire Preston, Member Mr. Daniel Tetrault, Member

ABSENT: Councillor James Wang, Member

Mr. Mr. Mike Bosa, Member

Beau Jarvis, Member

Dr. Paul Kershaw, Member Ms. Anne McMullin, Member

CIVIC Ms. Shauna Sylvester, Centre for Dialogue, SFU

ENGAGEMENT: Ms. Zaria Alibhai, Centre for Dialogue, SFU

STAFF: Mr. Lambert Chu, City Manager

Mr. Dipak Dattani, Director Corporate Services Mr. Ed Kozak, Director Planning and Building

Ms. Lee-Ann Garnett, Assistant Director – Long Range Planning Mr. Johannes Schumann, Assistant Director, Planning and Building

Ms. Lily Ford, Planner - Housing

Mr. Jim Wolf, Senior Long Range Planner Ms. Sarah Crawford, Long Range Planner

Mr. Rod Nevison, Graphic Designer

Ms. Margaret Eberle, Housing Consultant

Ms. Kate O'Connell, City Clerk

Ms. Eva Prior, Administrative Officer

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the Open Task Force meeting to order at 4:01 p.m.

The Chair, Councillor Pietro Calendino recognized the ancestral and unceded homelands of the Skwxwú7mesh and traditional hənqəminəm speaking people, and extended appreciation for the opportunity to hold a meeting on this shared territory.

### 2. MINUTES

# a) Minutes of the Mayor's Task Force on Community Housing Open meeting held on 2019 June 26

MOVED BY MR. DANIEL TETRAULT
SECONDED BY COUNCILLOR SAV DHALIWAL

THAT the minutes of the Mayor's Task Force on Community Housing Open meeting held on 2019 June 26 be adopted.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

### 3. CLOSED

## MOVED BY COUNCILLOR JOE KEITHLEY SECOUNDED BY COUNCILLOR SAV DHALIWAL

THAT the Committee, in accordance with Sections 90 and 92 of the Community Charter, do now resolve itself into a Closed meeting from which the public is excluded to consider matters concerning negotiations and related discussions respecting the proposed provision of a municipal service that are at their preliminary stages and that, in view of the Council, could reasonably be expected to harm the interests of the municipality if they were held in public; and the consideration of information received and held in confidence relating to negotiations between the municipality and a provincial government or federal government or both, or between a provincial government or the federal government or both and a third party.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The Chair requested members of the Public leave the room, to allow the Task Force to proceed with the Closed portion of the Task Force Meeting.

### MOVED BY COUNCILLOR SAV DHALIWAL SECOUNDED BY COUNCILLOR JOE KEITHLEY

That the Open Task Force meeting do now recess.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The Open Task Force meeting recessed at 4:04 p.m.

MOVED BY MS. KARI MICHAELS SECOUNDED BY MR. DANIEL TETRAULT

That the Open Task Force meeting do now reconvene.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The Open Task Force meeting reconvened at 9:09 p.m.

#### 4. **ADJOURNMENT**

MOVED BY MR. DANIEL TETRAULT SECONDED BY MS. KARI MICHAELS

THAT this Open Committee meeting do now adjourn.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The Open Committee meeting adjourned at 9:10 p.m.

Kate O'Connell Councillor Pietro Calendino CITY CLERK

**CHAIR**