

TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS DATE: 2015 January 26

FROM: MAYOR DEREK R. CORRIGAN

SUBJECT: CITIZEN APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS,

COMMITTEES AND COMMISSIONS OF COUNCIL – 2015

PURPOSE: To appoint and reappoint citizen representatives to boards, committees and

commissions of Council

RECOMMENDATION:

1. THAT Council appoint and reappoint representatives to various Boards, Commissions and Committees of Council, as set out in this report for the terms specified.

REPORT

In 2014 October, advertisements were placed in both the Burnaby Now and The NewsLeader seeking volunteers to serve on Boards, Committees and Commissions of Council and the Burnaby Public Library Board. A review of all applications received was undertaken and as a result of that process the following is submitted for Council's consideration.

Appointments and reappointments of Burnaby citizens to the various boards, committees and commissions are for terms of three years unless otherwise noted.

Advisory Planning Commission

Reappointments:

Harman Dhatt, Craig Henschel

Board of Variance

Appointment:

Guyle Clark

Reappointment:

Charlene Richter

To: Council Members

From: His Worship Mayor Derek R. Corrigan

Re: Citizen Appointments and Reappointments – 2015 2014 January 26......Page 2

Community Heritage Commission

Reappointments (2 year term):

Margaret Bell, Philip Finlayson

Environment Committee

Appointments:

Peter Cech, Peggy Hua, Bill Brassington Jr., Frank Zhao

Parks, Recreation and Culture Commission

Appointments:

Karen Alzner, James Jang

Reappointment:

Lee Loftus

Public Library Board

(Pursuant to the Library Act S.B.C. 1994 C. 31, Part 2, Section 6(3) reappointments are for a term of two years.)

Appointment:

Lorraine Shore

Reappointments (2 year term):

David Ali, Satnam Johal, Sheila Pierce, Katy Alkins-Jang

Public Safety Committee

Appointments:

Emma Lee, Emily Li

To: Council Members

From: His Worship Mayor Derek R. Corrigan

Social Planning Committee

Appointment:

Frank Huang

Reappointments:

Peggy Woodruff, Noreen Boudreau, Sonia Clair, Shiraz Nathwani

Traffic Safety Committee

Appointment:

Steve Baron

Reappointments:

Eric Laity, Nikita Vizniak

Transportation Committee

Reappointments:

Amber Keane, Maria Marano

Respectfully submitted,

Derek R. Corrigan M A Y O R

Copied to: City Manager

Director Planning & Building

Director Engineering Director Finance

Director Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services

City Clerk